Le Café Royale, Royal Mile

7 Feb

Score: 3/5

Good For: Escaping Royal Mile Madness/A nice pick-me-up on a rainy day

Price: Cappuccino, £2.20

If you pick the right spot there is a delightful view of Calton Hill from this café.  This is just perfect if you are in need of an escape from the rain and just want to sit down and relax with a book and a coffee.  The large windows make sure that this north facing cafe is always filled with light and there is a very pleasant atmosphere inside, with bare stone walls covered in beautiful prints of Edinburgh.  The only downside is that the table with the best view also has a large panel of menus stuck to the window, slightly obscuring the view once you’re sitting down.  You have to sit up very straight to take it in, so I guess it’s good for your posture!

As for the coffee, I have no complaints though it didn’t blow me away.  I’m afraid I didn’t have any cake here, though I hear they do a good apple pie.

All in all, a nice little place with a light and relaxed air.  The only thing that puzzles me is the French name.  I don’t feel like this place exudes a French atmosphere and they don’t sell particularly French products so it just seems bizarre to give it a foreign name.  So, francophiles take note.  I wouldn’t want you to be disappointed by entering under false pretences.

Leave a Reply

