Spoon Café, Nicolson Street

24 Feb

www.spooncafe.co.uk

Score: 4/5

Great for: Working in groups/A wonderful cup of tea, in pleasant surroundings

Price: Tea £1.90, Cappuccino £2.20, Cake £4.50+

I have often walked past Spoon Café many times but never really thought to go in.  I think I was always put off by the fact that, because it’s on the first floor, you can’t look in through the window to see what it’s like before taking the plunge and entering.  I’d feel rood walking in, and turning straight around if I thought it wasn’t my scene.  However, on the recommendation of a friend I decided to pay this café a visit.  I was not disappointed.

I don’t know what I was expecting, but I certainly didn’t think I’d find such a chilled out relaxing environment.  There are a mix of tables (small and large) and sofas and the large, bright room is separated by book shelves, folding screens, pot plants and standing lamps giving the room a very lived-in, chilled out atmosphere.  The vintage wallpaper, furniture and tea cups all add to its charm.

I had a homemade ginger and lemon tea which was delicious.  They don’t really have cakes and if you want something sweet you’ll have to order it from the eating menu, which makes it a little more expensive than your average tea-shop cake, but I’m sure they are very good.

The only thing that lets this place down slightly (and the reason it doesn’t get a 5/5) is the grumpy and slow service.  A smile is all I ask for.

If you, like I, have walked past this place time and again always choosing Black Medicine over Spoon, I say think again.  Try it.  You’ll love it.

And here I something else I found:

Spoon Cafe Bistro on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Spoon Café, Nicolson Street”

  1. Hilsters March 10, 2011 at 1:46 PM #

    nice piccies and review, I SO have to pay a visit, like you i’ve always gone into Black Medicine for coffee and cake particularly if walking past in the daytime. Will make it priority to go!

  2. Chas August 12, 2011 at 7:45 PM #

    Dear Edinburgh Café Enthusiast, aka Falling Rose;
    Please contact me regarding the messages I’ve sent you via ETSY and URBAN SPOON.
    chas@novelholiday.com
    Thanx!
    CHAS
    (Ms. Charly D Miller, Nebraska, USA)

Leave a Reply

